Philippines Central Conference

The Philippines Central Conference today consist of 3 Episcopal Areas, 21 Annual Conferences, 200,540 Professing Members with an area of 477,181 square Km. More figures are as follows:

In 1908, the General Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church
authorized the organization of the Philippine Islands Mission into
the Philippine Islands Annual Conference, under the jurisdiction of
the Southern Asia Central Conference. The work in the Philippines
grew quickly and in 1936, the General Conference enabled the
organization of the Philippines Central Conference during the
following quadrennium. This act was ratified at the 1939 Uniting
Conference which created The Methodist Church. The first session
of the Philippines Central Conference was held at the Central
Methodist Church in Manila, beginning February 29, 1940.
Following years of growth, the 1960 General Conference
approved a second episcopal area in the Philippines Central
Conference: the Baguio Area (composed of the Northwest
Philippines Annual Conference, the Northern Philippines Annual
Conference, and the Mindanao Provisional Annual Conference)
which joined the Manila Area (composed of the Philippines Annual
Conference, Southwest Philippines Provisional Annual Conference,
and the Middle Philippines Annual Conference). The 1984 General
Conference mandated the addition of a third episcopal area, the
Davao Area.
(Source: Methodism in the Philippines: A Century of Faith and

The following figures was taken from a report to the General Conference  Committee on the World-Wide Nature of the Church.

The Davao Episcopal Area: Resident Bishop: Bishop Leo A. Soriano

Consist of the following: 5 Annual Conferences: Bicol Provisional Conference, East Mindanao Phil. Annual Conference, Mindanao Phil. Annual Conference, Visayas Annual Conference, and Northwest Phil. Annual Conference , 25,396 Professing and Baptized Members, 127 Ordained Clergy, 143 local Pastors, 201 Organized Churches, and 40 Preaching places. This Episcopal area covers an area of 3000,000 square Kilometers.

Baguio Episcopal Area: Resident Bishop: Bishop Rodolfo Alfonso Juan

Consist of 8 Annual Conference, they are: Central Luzon, North Central Luzon, Northeast Luzon, Northeast Philippines, Northern Philippines, Northwest Philippines, Pangasinan Philippines and Tarlac Philippines. The following figures are worth noting: 114,583 Professing and Baptized Members, 639 Organized Churches, 38 Preaching Places, 310 Ordained Elders, 380 Local Pastors. The geographical areas covers 447,229 square kilometers.

Manila Episcopal Area: Resident Bishop: Bishop Lito Cabacungan Tangonan

Consist of 8 Annual cConferences which: Bulacan PAC, Middle Phil. Annual Conference, Palawan PAC, Pampango PAC, Phil. Annual Conference, Phil. Annual Conference East, Southwest Phil. Prov. AC,  West Middle PAC. Statistics includes the following: 143,329 Professing and Baptized Members, 534 Organized churches, 208 Preaching places, 392 Ordained Elders, 360 local pastors. The geographical area covers around 300,000 square kilometers.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s